sprcd 1004

CD Out of Stock
FREE Online: OSSIAN Song Book

Buy CD:

- named after the legendary 3rd century Celtic Bard and folk hero, was formed in 1976, and this was their first album of Scottish/Celtic music - released in 1997 on CD. The band went on to record a series of albums on their own 'Iona' label.

Tracks include the beautiful slow air Sitting in the Stern of a Boat; several Scottish folk songs The Corncrake and Ma Rovin Eye; songs in Gaelic Ó mo Dhùthaich (Oh my Country), some lively instrumentals including a set of Shetland Reels Spootaskerry &c and a fine slow air Music of Spey by Scotland's great fiddle composer, the 'strathspey king' James Scott Skinner.

Click to view

Click to view

Book PDF

(Free Online: Song Book PDF)

Ossian: Ossian on SoundCloud

Ossian on springthyme/ soundcloud

Artistes: William Jackson: Celtic Harp, Uillean Pipes, Whistle, Vocals; John Martin: Fiddle, Mandolin, Cello, Vocals; George Jackson: Fiddle, Mandolin, Flute, Whistle, Guitar, Vocals and Billy Ross: Lead Vocals, Guitar, Whistle, Dulcimer.

Track List:
For full song texts, click on a song title
1: The Corncrake (Song)/ I Hae a Wife o Ma Ain (Jig)
2: Sitting in the Stern of a Boat (Slow Air)
3: Ma Roving Eye (Song)
4: Ó mo Dhùthaich (Oh my Country)/ Ossian's Lament
5: The 72nd Highlander's Farewell tae Aberdeen (Pipe March)/ The Favourite Dram (Bumpkin)
6: Ae Fond Kiss (Song)
7: Brose and Butter (Song)/ Monaghan Jig/ Jackson's Bottle of Brandy (Jigs)
8: Music of Spey (Slow Air)
9: Let Me in this Ae Nicht (Song)
10: Spootaskerry/ The Willow Kishie/ Simon's Wort (Shetland Reels)
11: Oidche Mhath Leibh (Goodnight To You) (Gaelic Song)

goose logo


© 1976 Springthyme Records

Automatic currency conversion