John Watt & Davey Stewart

Shores of the Forth

sprcd 1002

Online 14pp
Free Download.

Buy CD:

Fife’s Got Everything according to the song by John and Davey. A slightly exaggerated claim perhaps, but the two Fifers from Dunfermline and St Andrews respectively go a long way to prove it. Comedy songs, serious songs and recitations paint both a contemporary and past picture of this beautiful part of Scotland from two of the finest entertainers to come out of the ancient ‘Kingdom of Fife’. The title song Shores of the Forth is one of the few songs on the album that was not written by John. Some of John's songs such as Kelty Clippie and Pittenweem Jo have become classics and have been recorded by several other singers since John and Davey first recorded them in 1976.

Click to view

Click to view

CD Booklet PDF

Song Book PDF

(Free Online: SongBook PDF)

John Watt & Davey Stewart: Shores of the Forth

Shores of the Forth on springthyme/sound cloud

King James VI of Scotland described Fife as a ‘beggar’s mantle fringed with gold’ and this inspired the name of the band who provide the instrumentals and the backings - Jock Ritchie from Inverkeithing on fiddle, Jock Mullen from Kelty on accordion, Robin McKidd from Glenrothes on guitar and bass and Brian Miller from Penicuik on guitar and mandolin.

Track List:
For full song texts, click on a song title
1: Lochaber Gathering/ Tam Bain’s Lum
The Beggar's Mantle Ceilidh Band
2: Shores of the Forth/ Fisher’s Hornpipe Davey and the Band
3: Dunfermline Linen John Watt (recitation)
4: Pittenweem Jo John and the Band
5: My Wee Dog John Watt
6: Dundee City Police Pipe Band/ Hills of Glenorchy
The Beggar's Mantle Ceilidh Band
7: The Eymouth Disaster // The Boatie Rows John and the Band
8: Annabelle Rosabelle Davey and the Band
9: Kelty Clippie John and Davey and the Band
10: Barbara Donnachie/ Coolie’s Reel/ The Ash Plant/ The Corner House
The Beggar's Mantle Ceilidh Band
11: Mining Trilogy: Athony Reilly // Eany Many // Schooldays Over
John and Davey and the Band
12: Bobby Muldoon John and the Band
13: The Poachers Davey and the Band
14: The New Toon Hall/ There Cam a Young Man/ The Goby O/ Rosin the Beau
The Beggar's Mantle Ceilidh Band
15: Farewell tae the Ferries John and the Band
16: Fife’s Got Everything John and Davey and the Band
17: including Blue Skies John and the Band

Credits: Recorded at sessions during the weekend of 13, 14, 15 February 1976 at Balcanquhal Farm Cottage, Gateside, Fife. Recorded with a microphone stereo pair direct to 15ips Revox and produced by Peter Shepheard. Additional recordings (overdub of mandolin and kazoo) and mixing by Ian Sinclair at GRF Studios, Glasgow. Cover photograph by Kenny Thomson. Thanks to Artie Trezise and Cilla Fisher for use of Balcanquhal, Auchmuty High School for use of the bass, Mary Stewart and Cathy Watt for food and drink. Sleeve notes by John Watt and Peter Shepheard. Remastered for digital CD release by David Cunningham of Thane Multimedia, Cupar, Fife. Drawings illustrating the song pages on the website and the Online CD Booklet (and used in the original LP song sheet insert) are by Lynn Sheridan.

goose logo

Springthyme SPRCD 1002
© 1976, 2010 Springthyme Records

Automatic currency conversion